The lock is in place to enforce that `async` is not accessed if the request has been, cancelled. Therefore it's not necessary to hold the lock beyond setting cancelled to true, and in fact it's unsafe to so: if this is the last remaining shared reference, `delete this` will destroy the mutex. If the lock was held, it would then be orphaned.